22 Church St. was one of three tenement houses built by the Fenwick family of Charleston, SC. Damaged by fire before 1785, the lots lay vacant until 1796 when Daniel Brown, a mariner, purchased the long, narrow, central property and built a home in the style of the traditional Charleston single-house. Over time, the structure has been converted into the house we see today. The traditional Charleston porch has been walled in, the entrance room greatly expanded, and the front doorway shifted from the south side of the building to the west, now opening directly onto the street. A rooftop skylight, large windows, and several beautiful early fanlights, allow vast amounts of natural light to enter the home, highlighting the historic nature of the structure. Unique to the neighborhood, 22 Church St. contains several pieces of early, intricate, hand-forged ironwork. The Historic American Building Survey photographed and documented both the Juliet Balcony and the Coal Chute Gate due to their historic and aesthetic value. Exposed brick, original plaster, heart of pine floors, pegged-through mortise and tenon joinery, and many valuable historic elements such as hand-carved wooden mantles, hand-blown glass panes, and in-situ plaster moldings make 22 Church St. a visually and culturally valuable property that greatly contributes to the historic character of the nationally recognized South of Broad Historic District. Also included in this offering is a charming, totally renovated two bedroom, one and one half bath carriage house overlooking the spacious brick walled garden. Rental of the carriage house is allowed.
Listing courtesy of Akers Ellis Real Estate Llc.